

Legislative Assembly Province of Alberta

No. 9

VOTES AND PROCEEDINGS

Second Session

Twenty-Eighth Legislature

Monday, March 17, 2014

The Speaker took the Chair at 1:30 p.m.

Members' Statements

Mrs. Leskiw, Hon. Member for Bonnyville-Cold Lake, made a statement regarding the Minister of Municipal Affairs' announcement on March 17, 2014, concerning the Government's support for municipalities in Budget 2014.

Mr. Hale, Hon. Member for Strathmore-Brooks, made a statement recognizing the Newell Foundation and its concept planning for the Bassano Continuing Care Centre.

Mr. McDonald, Hon. Member for Grande Prairie-Smoky, made a statement recognizing Michelle Hoover, winner of the 2013 4-H Premier's Award.

Mrs. Fritz, Hon. Member for Calgary-Cross, made a statement recognizing Greer Black, who is retiring from a 35-year career in health care on March 28, 2014.

Mr. Quadri, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Mill Woods, made a statement regarding recent projects and funding announcements under the Building Alberta Plan and Budget 2014.

Mr. Hehr, Hon. Member for Calgary-Buffalo, made a statement regarding support for craft brewers and distilleries in Alberta.

Introduction of Bills (First Reading)

Notice having been given:

Bill 204 Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy (MLA Public Interest Fee Waiver) Amendment Act, 2014 — Mr. Barnes

Tabling Returns and Reports

Mr. Donovan, Hon. Member for Little Bow:

Document, undated, entitled "Resolution 4-13S, Local Road Bridge Program, Municipal District of Big Lakes," regarding the Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties calling upon the Government to ensure a second round of consultation

Sessional Paper 54/2014

Mr. Hale, Hon. Member for Strathmore-Brooks:

Bassano Continuing Care Centre, Final Report, dated October 11, 2013, prepared by S2 Architecture

Sessional Paper 55/2014

Ms Blakeman, Hon. Member for Edmonton-Centre:

Report dated November 2013 entitled "reaching equal justice: an invitation to envision and act," prepared by the Canadian Bar Association Access to Justice Committee

Sessional Paper 56/2014

Report dated June 2010 entitled "Moving Forward on Legal Aid, Research on Needs and Innovative Approaches," prepared by Melina Buckley for the Canadian Bar Association

Sessional Paper 57/2014

Tablings to the Clerk

Clerk of the Assembly on behalf of Hon. Mr. Hughes, Minister of Municipal Affairs:

Pursuant to the Safety Codes Act, cS-1, s25(3), Safety Codes Council, Annual Report 2012

Sessional Paper 58/2014

Pursuant to the Government Organization Act, cG-10, sch10, s10(3):

2011-2012 Authorized Accredited Agencies Summary

Sessional Paper 59/2014

2012/2013 Alberta Elevating Devices and Amusement Rides Safety Association Annual Report

Sessional Paper 60/2014

Alberta Boilers Safety Association, Annual Report 2013, October 31, 2013 Sessional Paper 61/2014

Clerk of the Assembly on behalf of Hon. Mr. Horner, President of Treasury Board and Minister of Finance, pursuant to the Insurance Act, cI-3, s601(2):

Automobile Insurance Rate Board, 2013 Annual Report for the Year Ended December 31, 2013

Sessional Paper 62/2014

ORDERS OF THE DAY

Public Bills and Orders Other Than Government Bills and Orders

Second Reading

On the motion that the following Bill be now read a Second time:

Bill 202 Independent Budget Officer Act - Mrs. Forsyth

A debate followed.

The question being put, the motion was defeated. With Hon. Mr. Zwozdesky in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 16

Anderson	Fox	Rowe
Anglin	Hale	Sherman
Bikman	Hehr	Swann
Blakeman	Notley	Towle
Fenske	Pedersen	Wilson
Forsyth		

Against the motion: 32

Amery	Horne	Olesen
Barnes	Horner	Quadri
Bhardwaj	Johnson (Calgary-Glenmore)	Quest
Casey	Khan	Rodney
Cusanelli	Klimchuk	Sandhu
DeLong	Kubinec	Sarich
Denis	Lemke	Starke
Dorward	Leskiw	VanderBurg
Fritz	Luan	Woo-Paw
Griffiths	McIver	Xiao
Hancock	Oberle	

Motions Other Than Government Motions

502. Moved by Mr. Saskiw:

Be it resolved that the Legislative Assembly urge the Government to introduce legislation to repeal section 3(1)(b) of the Alberta Human Rights Act to restore the freedom of speech of all Albertans.

A debate followed.

Hon. Mr. Denis, Deputy Government House Leader, requested and received the unanimous consent of the Assembly to waive Standing Order 4(2) in order to allow the Assembly to sit past 6:00 p.m. to complete consideration of Motion Other Than Government Motion 502.

During consideration of Motion Other Than Government Motion 502, Mr. Saskiw, Hon. Member for Lac La Biche-St. Paul-Two Hills, requested the unanimous consent of the Assembly to reduce the interval between division bells to one minute.

Unanimous consent was not granted.

The question being put, the motion was defeated. With Hon. Mr. Zwozdesky in the Chair, the names being called for were taken as follows:

For the motion: 8

Anderson	Denis	Saskiw
Barnes	Donovan	Wilson
Bikman	McAllister	

Against the motion: 38

Amery	Horner	Quest
Bhardwaj	Jeneroux	Rodney
Bilous	Johnson (Calgary-Glenmore)	Rogers
Blakeman	Khan	Sandhu
Brown	Klimchuk	Sarich
Casey	Kubinec	Sherman
Cusanelli	Lemke	Starke
DeLong	Leskiw	Swann
Dorward	Luan	VanderBurg
Fenske	McIver	Woo-Paw
Fritz	Notley	Xiao
Griffiths	Oberle	Young
Hancock	Olesen	

Adjournment

=

The Assembly adjourned at 6:28 p.m. until Tuesday, March 18, 2014, at 1:30 p.m.

Hon. Gene Zwozdesky, Speaker

Title: Monday, March 17, 2014